Robotic pool cleaners for above-ground pools: what actually fits
Short answer: some robotic pool cleaners suit above-ground pools, but only some makers say so. In our data, eight cleaners have a maker statement covering above-ground pools: four Beatbot models, three WYBOT models and the Aiper Scuba SE. None of the maker pages we opened gives a wall-height limit, so measure your pool and check that you can lift the robot over the wall.
Shortlist, ranked by Pool-Fit Score for an 18 ft round above-ground pool
These retailer links don’t earn us anything yet. If that changes, this note will say so. How we make money →
Basis: our Pool-Fit Score for an 18 ft round above-ground pool (254 sq ft, about 4 ft deep). It’s a fit check built from maker data, not a quality grade or a hands-on result. Ties go to the lower price. A model makes this list only if its maker states above-ground support [C]. Prices were read on each retailer’s own page, checked Oct 15, 2026.
| # | Model | Pool-Fit (18 ft round) | One data line | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beatbot AquaSense 2 | 95 (6 of 6 inputs published) | 3,230 sq ft [C], 0.5–3 m depth [C], 3-year full-replacement warranty [C], 23.08 lb [C] | $799 (list $1,298) at beatbot.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at beatbot.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 2 | Beatbot AquaSense 2 Ultra | 95 (6 of 6 inputs published) | 3,875 sq ft [C], 1.31–9.84 ft depth [C], 3-year warranty [C], 29.1 lb [C] | $2,699 (list $3,150) at beatbot.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at beatbot.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 3 | Beatbot Sora 10 | 92 (6 of 6 inputs published) | 3,229 sq ft [C], 0.5–3.5 m depth [C], 18.74 lb [C], 2-year warranty [C] | $469 (list $699) at beatbot.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at beatbot.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 4 | WYBOT C2 | 92 (6 of 6 inputs published; depth not published) | 2,152 sq ft [C], 180 µm + 10 µm filters [C], 17.6 lb [C], 2-year warranty [C] | $499.99 (list $699.99) at wybotpool.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at wybotpool.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 5 | WYBOT C2 Vision | 92 (6 of 6 inputs published; depth not published) | 2,152 sq ft [C], AI vision camera [C], 17.6 lb [C], 2-year warranty [C] | $629.99 (list $899.99) at wybotpool.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at wybotpool.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 6 | Beatbot AquaSense X | 90 (6 of 6 inputs published; depth range not published, minimum 14 in) | 3,875 sq ft per charge [C], self-emptying dock [C], robot 28.9 lb [C], 3-year warranty [C] | $4,250 at beatbot.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at beatbot.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 7 | WYBOT C1 | 75 (6 of 6 inputs published; waterline and depth not on the maker page) | 1,615 sq ft [C], wall mode [C], 180 µm filter [C], 17.6 lb [C], 2-year warranty [C] | $399.99 (list $569.99) at wybotpool.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at wybotpool.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 8 | Aiper Scuba SE | 50 (5 of 6 inputs published; warranty not published) | above-ground only [C], floor only [C], 860 sq ft and 30 ft length [C], 90 min runtime claim [C] | $129.97 (regular $199.99) at epoolsupply.com · checked Oct 15, 2026 | Check price at epoolsupply.com (opens in a new tab) |
Product images: Beatbot, WYBOT, Aiper.
Read the scores with care. At 254 sq ft, size and runtime aren’t the constraint for seven of the eight. The exception is the Aiper Scuba SE, whose 30 ft length claim costs it size points. Among the rest, the scores mostly separate on wall and waterline coverage, published depth range, filter fineness and warranty. A score isn’t a recommendation. Independent opinions also differ: The Pool Nerd gave the AquaSense 2 a “Disapproved” verdict (August 20, 2025), while Bob Vila rated it 4.6 and named it “Best AI Navigation” (July 17, 2025). We don’t pick between them.
Check your pool first
- Shape and size. Work out the area. Round: π × r². Oval with straight sides: (L − W) × W + π × (W ÷ 2)². Makers state either a maximum pool area or a maximum length, and the two can’t be swapped.
- Wall type. Is your pool steel or resin hard-sided, or soft-sided or inflatable? No maker page we opened says which wall types its robot supports. Ask the maker before buying for a soft-sided pool.
- Wall height. No maker page we opened gives a maximum wall height. Measure yours and plan how you’ll get the robot over it.
- Liner and fittings. Note your vinyl liner, ladder and steps. See the watch-outs below.
- Depth. Only Beatbot publishes a depth range for the models here: 0.5–3.5 m for the Sora 10, 0.5–3 m for the AquaSense 2 and 1.31–9.84 ft for the AquaSense 2 Ultra. The AquaSense X lists only a 14 in minimum.
How to work out your above-ground pool's area
Worked areas (our calculation):
| Pool | Area |
|---|---|
| 15 ft round | 177 sq ft |
| 18 ft round | 254 sq ft |
| 24 ft round | 452 sq ft |
| 15 × 30 ft oval | about 402 sq ft |
The comparison table
Labels: [C] claimed by the maker · [M] timed or observed by a named reviewer · [R] retailer-listed. “Not published” means the maker’s page doesn’t say. Prices and check dates are in the shortlist above.
| Model | Above-ground | Max pool | Depth | Runtime · mode | Wall / waterline | Weight | Recall status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beatbot Sora 10 | [C] above- and in-ground | 3,229 sq ft [C] | 0.5–3.5 m (1.6–9.8 ft) [C] | 300 min floor only; 240 min floor + walls + waterline [C]. No per-charge measurement found (PCWorld describes “nearly five hours of cleaning, including walls and the waterline” but doesn’t say it was one charge, Jun 12, 2026) | walls [C] · waterline [C] | 18.74 lb [C] | No recall found for Beatbot (CPSC, searched Oct 15, 2026) |
| Beatbot AquaSense 2 | [C] above- and in-ground | 3,230 sq ft [C] | 0.5–3 m (1.6–9.8 ft) [C] | 240 min floor; about 210 min walls [C]. Freshly Charged: more than 3.5 h with battery left, mode not stated (Feb 24, 2026) [M, lower bound] | walls [C] · waterline [C] | 23.08 lb [C] | No recall found for Beatbot |
| Beatbot AquaSense 2 Ultra | [C] above- and in-ground | 3,875 sq ft recommended; 3,444 per cycle [C] | 1.31–9.84 ft [C] | 300 min floor; 270 min walls + waterline; 600 min surface [C] | walls [C] · waterline [C] | 29.1 lb [C] | No recall found for Beatbot |
| Beatbot AquaSense X | [C] above- and in-ground | 3,875 sq ft per charge [C] (no separate maximum pool size) | minimum 14 in [C]; no maximum published | 300 min floor; 300 min walls + waterline; 600 min surface [C] | walls [C] · waterline [C] | robot 28.9 lb [C] | No recall found for Beatbot |
| WYBOT C2 | [C] above- and in-ground | 2,152 sq ft [C] | not published | 180 min Eco (floor-focused) [C]; Bob Vila: about 120 min, mode not stated (May 6, 2026) [M] | walls [C] · waterline [C] | 17.6 lb [C] | WYBOT has 1 CPSC recall (26-372) for other models; the C2 is the replacement unit |
| WYBOT C2 Vision | [C] above- and in-ground | 2,152 sq ft [C] | not published | 180 min Eco [C]; eftm: Eco 175–185, Floor 115–120, Wall 125–140, Waterline 125–170 (Jan 27, 2026) [M] | walls [C] · waterline [C] | 17.6 lb [C] | WYBOT 26-372 names other models; this model isn’t named |
| WYBOT C1 | [C] above- and in-ground | 1,615 sq ft [C] | not published | 150 min, mode not stated [C]; no independent measurement found | walls [C] (wall mode) · waterline: listed by The Pool Nerd, not on the maker page | 17.6 lb [C] | WYBOT 26-372 names other models; this model isn’t named |
| Aiper Scuba SE | [C] above-ground only | 860 sq ft and 30 ft length [C] (another line on the same page says 850 sq ft) | not published | 90 min, mode not stated; the same page also says “a full 100 minutes” [C]; no independent measurement found | floor only [C] | not published | Aiper has 2 CPSC recalls (Elite Pro GS100, Seagull Pro); neither names the Scuba SE |
Recall details are on the recalls hub. Runtime in context is on the battery data page.
Size: almost any robot here is big enough, so headroom isn’t the issue
Six of the eight claim at least 1,615 sq ft [C]: 1,615 for the WYBOT C1, 2,152 for the WYBOT C2 and C2 Vision, and 3,229 to 3,875 for the four Beatbots. (The AquaSense X’s 3,875 sq ft is a per-charge figure, and Beatbot publishes no separate maximum.) Even against a 24 ft round pool (452 sq ft), the ratio of pool area to claimed area is 0.28 or lower for those six (our calculation: 452 ÷ 1,615 = 0.28).
Claimed maximum pool area vs the pools in this guide
The Aiper Scuba SE is the one model near a limit. Aiper’s page claims 860 sq ft and a 30 ft length [C], and a 15 × 30 ft oval (about 402 sq ft) sits right at that length. In our score, the length claim costs it size points even at the 18 ft round pool (18 of 30 ft).
For an above-ground pool, the bigger question is what makers leave out: wall type, wall height and liner. Published pool type and depth are where the shortlist differs.
Walls and waterline on above-ground pools
Seven of the eight claim wall cleaning, and six claim waterline cleaning [C]. The WYBOT C1’s page lists a wall mode, but its waterline mode appears only in The Pool Nerd’s list, not on the maker page we read, so we don’t score it. The Aiper Scuba SE cleans the floor only [C].
For an above-ground pool, a wall claim describes the robot, not your wall. We didn’t obtain a manual with wall-height, vinyl-liner or soft-wall cautions for any model on the shortlist, so we quote none. The Sora 10 and AquaSense 2 pages give no above-ground-specific limits. The WYBOT C1 page gives no minimum water depth, floor type or wall limits. The Aiper Scuba SE page gives no flat-floor, wall-height or minimum-depth conditions. The AquaSense X lists a 14 in minimum water depth and a 3.3 × 3.3 ft minimum platform [C].
Beatbot’s AquaSense 2 page adds that steps are cleaned only if they’re wide enough and under more than 0.98 ft of water [C]. PCWorld (June 12, 2026) reported that the Sora 10 “missed all debris on the pool steps”.
Getting it out: weight and retrieval
You’ll be lifting the robot over a pool wall, so weight matters. Maker-stated weights: WYBOT C1, C2 and C2 Vision 17.6 lb; Sora 10 18.74 lb; AquaSense 2 23.08 lb; AquaSense X robot 28.9 lb; AquaSense 2 Ultra 29.1 lb [C]. Aiper doesn’t publish the Scuba SE’s weight on the page we read, but it lists a retrieval hook in the box [C]. The Mammotion Spino E1 isn’t on this list because Mammotion doesn’t say whether it suits above-ground pools.

Retrieval features where stated: the Sora 10 parks at the waterline, the WYBOT C2 auto-parks at the edge, and the WYBOT C1 and C2 Vision list self-parking [C]. Beatbot’s app connects only while the robot is at the surface [C].
Price bands
All prices were checked Oct 15, 2026 at the retailers named in the shortlist.
- About $130: Aiper Scuba SE, $129.97. What it lacks next to the models above: wall and waterline cleaning, a published warranty and published depth. It has a 90-minute runtime claim and a 180 µm filter tray [C].
- About $400: WYBOT C1, $399.99. Compared with the C2, it has a smaller rated area (1,615 vs 2,152 sq ft [C]) and only a 180 µm cartridge, where the C2 adds a 10 µm fine filter [C]. Its 150-minute runtime claim has no mode stated; the C2’s 180 minutes is for Eco.
- About $470–500: Beatbot Sora 10, $469, and WYBOT C2, $499.99. The Sora 10 is the only one in this band with a published depth range. The C2 adds a 10 µm fine filter and is about a pound lighter (17.6 vs 18.74 lb [C]).
- About $630–800: WYBOT C2 Vision, $629.99, and Beatbot AquaSense 2, $799. The AquaSense 2 has a 10,000 mAh battery and a 3-year full-replacement warranty with no repairs [C]. The C2 Vision adds an AI vision camera [C].
- Above $2,500: Beatbot AquaSense 2 Ultra, $2,699, and AquaSense X, $4,250. Both add surface skimming, and the AquaSense X adds a self-emptying dock [C]. For an 18 ft round above-ground pool, you don’t need either for size or runtime.
Australia: we haven’t checked Australian availability or AUD prices for these models. The prices here are in USD from US retailers.
Watch-outs
- Most makers say little about above-ground conditions. Beatbot publishes depth figures for four models. The WYBOT and Aiper pages we read publish none.
- Not stated by the maker, so not on the shortlist: Mammotion Spino E1 (no in-ground or above-ground statement); Beatbot Sora 30 (not stated); Aiper Scuba S1 Pro (not stated); Aiper Scuba S1. On the Scuba S1, Aiper’s page says both “Ideal pool type: In-ground” and “Designed for both above-ground and in-ground pools”, so for above-ground pools the page conflicts. See the Aiper Scuba S1 page.
- Maker lists in-ground and doesn’t mention above-ground: Aiper Scuba S3, V3, V3 Ultra, X1 and X1 Pro Max; Beatbot Sora 70; Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus. That isn’t an exclusion, and it isn’t support either. Ask the maker.
- Not checked: Dolphin Liberty line (we didn’t open the individual model pages); Polaris Freedom Plus (maker page not verified).
- Only three of the eight have an independent runtime measurement: the WYBOT C2, the WYBOT C2 Vision and the AquaSense 2 (a lower bound). Details are on the battery data page.
- Charging: charge only as the manual describes, with the supplied charger.
FAQ
Do robotic pool cleaners work in above-ground pools? Only where the maker says so. In our data, eight cleaners have a maker statement covering above-ground pools: the Beatbot Sora 10, AquaSense 2, AquaSense 2 Ultra and AquaSense X; the WYBOT C2, C2 Vision and C1; and the Aiper Scuba SE, which is above-ground only [C].
Can a robot climb the walls of an above-ground pool? Seven of the eight claim wall cleaning; the Aiper Scuba SE cleans the floor only [C]. No maker page we opened gives wall-height limits or liner cautions for these models.
Will a robotic pool cleaner damage my vinyl liner? The maker pages we opened don’t say. Beatbot lists vinyl among supported surfaces for the Sora 10, AquaSense 2 Ultra and AquaSense X [C]. That tells you the surface is supported, not how it wears. Ask the maker about your liner.
Can I use a robotic cleaner in a soft-sided or inflatable pool? The maker pages we opened don’t say. Ask the maker before buying.
What size robot do I need for a 24 ft round pool? A 24 ft round pool is 452 sq ft (π × 12²). The Aiper Scuba SE claims 860 sq ft, and every other model on the shortlist claims 1,615 sq ft or more (the AquaSense X’s figure is per charge) [C]. Size isn’t the constraint. Check wall type, wall height and weight instead.
Sources (accessed Oct 15–16, 2026)
- Beatbot product pages: beatbot.com/products/sora-10 · /products/aquasense-2 · /products/aquasense-2-ultra · /pages/aquasense-x
- WYBOT product pages (C2 and C2 Vision filter and packing lists re-read Oct 16, 2026): wybotpool.com/products/wybot-c2-cordless-robotic-pool-cleaner · wybot-c2-vision-cordless-robotic-pool-cleaner · wybot-c1-cordless-robotic-pool-cleaner
- Aiper Scuba SE (spec table re-read Oct 16, 2026): https://aiper.com/us/aiper-scuba-series/aiper-scuba-se · price: https://www.epoolsupply.com/collections/aiper-robotic-pool-cleaners
- PCWorld, Beatbot Sora 10 (Jun 12, 2026): https://www.pcworld.com/article/3155615/beatbot-sora-10-review.html
- Bob Vila, WYBOT C2 (May 6, 2026): https://www.bobvila.com/reviews/wybot-c2-review/
- eftm.com, WYBOT C2 Vision (Jan 27, 2026): https://eftm.com/2026/01/review-the-wybot-c2-vision-robot-pool-cleaner-smarter-than-your-average-pool-robot-270923
- Freshly Charged, AquaSense 2 (Feb 24, 2026): https://freshlycharged.com/beatbot-aquasense-2-review/
- The Pool Nerd: AquaSense 2 (Aug 20, 2025): https://www.thepoolnerd.com/beatbot-aquasense-2-review · best robotic cleaners under $500 (April 2026, WYBOT C1 listing): https://www.thepoolnerd.com/best-robotic-pool-cleaners-under-500
- Bob Vila, best robotic pool cleaners (AquaSense 2 “Best AI Navigation”): https://www.bobvila.com/articles/best-robotic-pool-cleaner/
- Pool-Fit Scores: generated by the site’s scoring code (
qa/pool-fit-scores.md), method v1.2 - CPSC recalls: see the recalls hub
Keep reading
- DataRobotic pool cleaner battery life, by mode
- RecallRobotic pool cleaner recalls and remedies
- ReviewAiper Scuba S1: Runtime by Mode, Pool Fit
Beatbot AquaSense 2
Beatbot AquaSense 2 Ultra
WYBOT C2 Vision
Beatbot AquaSense X
WYBOT C1
Aiper Scuba SE